Log in

Arkansas Tech announces 2024 Athletic Hall of Fame class


RUSSELLVILLE — The Arkansas Tech University department of athletics is pleased to announce that it will induct nine individuals, one group and two teams this coming fall into its Athletic Hall of Fame. This year's class is the third class of the ATU Athletic Hall of Fame, which started in 2022.
The newest class will be formally inducted during a ceremony that starts at 7:00 p.m. on Friday, October 25 inside Tucker Coliseum. Prior to the ceremony, there will be a social hour from 5:00 p.m. - 6:00 p.m. and dinner from 6:00 p.m. - 7:00 p.m. The class will also be publicly introduced at halftime of the October 26 home football game against Ouachita Baptist, which has a scheduled kick-off time of 2 p.m.
The 2024 ATU Athletic Hall of Fame Class is comprised of six former student-athletes, two service awards honorees (one individual and one group), two coaches and two teams. Below is a list of those inductees:
Name Category Sport(s) Years at Tech
Larry Brown Student-Athlete Football/Baseball 1968-71
Paul Brown Student-Athlete Men's Basketball 1966-67; 1969-70
Jim Dickerson Coach Women's Basketball/Volleyball 1982-87 (WBB)
1982-85 (VB)
Football Chain Gang*+ Service Award Football 1987-2022
Tommy Edwards Student-Athlete Football 2000-03
Megan Goodnight Student-Athlete Softball 2016-19
Robyn Richardson Service Award Basketball/Football/Volleyball 1977-present
Rebecka Surtevall Student-Athlete Women's Golf 2011-12 - 2014-15
Ryan White^ Student-Athlete Baseball 2002-05
Jim Yeager Coach Women's Basketball/Volleyball 1977-81 (VB)
1978-82 (WBB)
1953-54 Men's Basketball+ Team Men's Basketball 1953-54
1954-55 Men's Basketball+ Team Men's Basketball 1954-55
* - members included Craig Fleming (1987-2022), James Crafton (1987-1998), Fred Clayton (1987-1998), Dick Clawson (1987-2022), Larry Greathouse (1996-2022), Joe Alpe (1998-2022), Vernon Kinsey (2002-2022), Greg Motley (2002-22), David Leggett (2003-22)
+ - if any individual member or someone in the family of the chain gang or the 1953-54 & 1954-55 basketball teams have not been contacted with information about the Hall of Fame induction, please have them reach out to
Amy Anderson - aanderson41@atu.edu - 479-498-6071
^ - posthumous induction