Log in

No local races in upcoming primaries


The Newton County Clerk's Office released the petitions filed by candidates for the upcoming 2024 primary election.
There were no Democrat filings and there were no races among those Republicans filing for county offices or local school boards.
Here is the list of candidates:
Constable: Hickory Grove, Charles Moore, Deer; Jefferson, Jayson Flud, Swain; Jackson, Johnny Joe Phillips, Jasper; Hudson, Marvin Wilson, Parthenon; Richland, Arnold Lee Young, Pelsor and Pleasant Hill, Johnny Bohannon, Deer.
Justice of the peace: District 1, Jamie Mefford, Jasper; District 2, Richard Campbell, Vendor; District 3, Terry Clark, Ponca; District 4, Dennis Sain, Pelsor; District 5, Jerry Lee, Western Grove; District 5, Chris Martin, Western Grove; District 8, Arlis Dale Jones, Marble Falls; District 9, John D. Phillis, Jasper.
Jasper School board Zone 1, Kevin Hasty.

Deer/Mt. Judea School board position 3, Johnny Smith.
Arkansas' 2024 primary and nonpartisan general elections will be held on March 5, with early voting starting two weeks prior.
Arkansans will vote to decide on the Democratic and Republican nominees in various races. Those include the U.S. president and the U.S. House of Representatives. The winners of these primary races will become their party's nominees for the general election in November.
If you're a registered Arkansas voter, you should be allowed to cast a ballot. You don't need to be registered as a Democrat or Republican to vote in these primaries. You'll be asked which ballot you want to use at the polling place.
All ballots will include judicial races. Those will include three seats on the Arkansas Supreme Court.
If you live in an area with a school race, a school millage vote or a special election, those will also appear on the ballot.