Log in

Hampton, Burlsworth earn HOF ballot


FAYETTEVILLE — Former Arkansas Razorbacks All-Americans Dan Hampton and Brandon Burlsworth are among 78 players listed on the College Football Hall of Fame ballot released Wednesday in Irving, Texas by the National Football Foundation.

Hampton of Jacksonville whose stellar career with the Chicago Bears earned his 2002 induction into the Professional Football Hall of Fame, lettered as a defensive tackle for Frank Broyles’ 1975 and ’76 Razorbacks and Lou Holtz’s 1977 and ’78 Razorbacks, was voted first-team All-American in and first-team All-Southwest Conference in 1977 and ’78 and was named the Houston Post’s 1978 SWC Outstanding Player of the Year.

Burlsworth of Harrison, killed in an automobile accident shortly after being NFL drafted by the Indianapolis Colts, originally joined the Razorbacks as a redshirting walk-on under Danny Ford in 1994.

Burlsworth developed not only into a 4-year letterman offensive guard and 3-year starter of 34 consecutive games but for Houston Nutt’s 1998 Razorbacks was voted first-team All-American and first-team All-SEC.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment