LITTLE ROCK — The Arkansas Department of Education announced the 35 Arkansas educators selected to each receive a $2,000 sponsorship. The sponsorships will assist educators with expanding their knowledge of computer science and give them the opportunity to network with other educators from around the world at the Computer Science Teachers Association conference, which will be held in Arlington, Virginia July 11–15, 2020.

“The CSTA Annual Conference provides a great opportunity for educators to listen to keynote speakers, attend a variety of sessions on a wide range of topics, network with other educators and industry professionals, and to visit with educational vendors and sponsors,” said Carl Frank, president of Arkansas CSTA. “This year there are over 100 sessions to choose from, and the closing keynote speaker is Linda Liukas from Helsinki, Finland. Arkansas educators really make an impression at this conference, not only by its large number in attendance, but many by their active participation either by presenting sessions or sharing what they do in their classroom. I highly recommend the CSTA Conference to anyone interested in computer science education.”

The following educators have been selected to each receive a $2,000 sponsorship:

• Henry Wooten; Computer Science and Business Teacher with Deer High School in Deer

• Amy Adams; STEM Specialist with Parker Center in Fort Smith

• Carole Anderson; CTE Teacher with Bauxite High School in Bauxite

• Jessica Ballou; Social Studies Teacher with Bryant High School in Bryant

• Mindy Bissett; Gifted and Talented Facilitator with Seventh Street Elementary in North Little Rock

• Phillip Blake; Teacher with eStem High School in Little Rock

• Robin Boerwinkle; STEM Teacher with Norphlet Middle School in Norphlet

• Eden Buergler; Technology Integration Specialist with Rogers Center in Fort Smith

• Kevin Collins; Computer Science Teacher with Alma High School in Alma

• Kiley Corbitt; Computer Science Teacher with Rogers New Technology High School in Rogers

• Julia Cottrell; STEM Coordinator/Lead PLTW Teacher with Central Elementary in Van Buren

• Cynthia Fowler; Instructional Facilitator/Computer Science Teacher with George Jr. High in


• Tara Gates; Teacher with Hampton Elementary School in Hampton

• Michael Herren; Teacher - Robotics, Competition STEM, Engineering

Technology/Cinematography with Washington Middle School in El Dorado

• Holly Herron; Business & CS Teacher with Bigelow High School in Bigelow

• Michael Hill; Math Teacher with North Little Rock High School in North Little Rock

• Sheila Hopson; Teacher with Hope High School in Hope

• Amy Locke; EAST Facilitator/Computer Teacher with Williams Elementary in Farmington

• Warren Maddox; Computer Science/Cyber Security Instructor with Vilonia High School in Vilonia

• Vincent Matthews; Teacher with Hot Springs World Class High School in Hot Springs

• Emily Nash; Teacher with Genoa Central Elementary School in Texarkana

• Michele Owen; Library Media Specialist with Hill Farm Elementary in Bryant

• Rachel Poor; Classroom Teacher with Waldron Middle School in Waldron

• Lisa Posey; Instructional Technology Specialist with Genoa Central School District in Texarkana

• Kimberly Raup; Computer Science Teacher with Conway High School in Conway

• Ryan Raup; Classroom Teacher with Ellen Smith Elementary in Conway

• Tate Rector; Computer Science Teacher with Beebe Junior High in Beebe

• Abbie Russell; EAST Facilitator with Linda Childers Knapp Elementary in Springdale

• John Russell; Ignite Technology Instructor with Bentonville West High School in Bentonville

• Rhiannon Sniffin; Second Grade Teacher with Riverview Judsonia Elementary School in


• Courtney Speer; Technology Teacher/Coach with University Heights School of Medical Arts in


• Margaret Strain; Thompson; Math/CS Teacher with Heber Springs High School in Heber Springs

• Jamie Varnell; Computer Science Teacher with Paris High School in Paris

• Steven Ward; Computer Science Teacher with Lincoln High School in Lincoln

• Landon West; Faculty with Marion High School in Marion

The $2,000 sponsorships were open to Arkansas K-12 public school teachers, librarians, curriculum coordinators, counselors, and other educators who have demonstrated their commitment to technology integration and computer science education at their school or district. Educators were selected by an impartial committee of ADE employees and statewide computer science specialists who reviewed all applicants and scored them using a rubric viewable at

To receive the $2,000 sponsorship, selected educators will be required to attend the CSTA conference and participate in various conference and state delegation activities. Recipients will receive the sponsorships as reimbursements after the conference to offset conference expenses.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.